Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Vac Rental | E-Edition | Home RSS

Maui hosts 77th annual AJA state baseball tournament this weekend

April 6, 2012 - Robert Collias
The 77th annual AJA state baseball tournament will be held Saturday and Sunday at Maehara Stadium. Back in 1947, Iron Maehara was the MVP of the Maui AJA league, to illustrate a little bit of the history this event carries.

Maui takes on Kauai at 10 a.m. in the first game and if the Valley Isle nine wins, they will play the Oahu-Big Island winner on Sunday for the crown. Maui won it the last time this event was held here, four years ago, for only the fourth time ever.

Here is an emailed press release and roster I received from Maui AJA president Neal Fujiwara and team player-manager Chase Corniel — I will have the full preview story for Saturday's paper:

77th Annual Hawaii AJA Baseball Tournament April 7-8, Ichiro ³Iron² Maehara Baseball Stadium

The 77th Annual Hawaii AjA Baseball Association Tournament will be coming to Maui on April 7-8. The tournament is a revolving one that will be played on Oahu in 2013, then Kauai, and Hawaii and back to Maui.

Waialae from Oahu has won the past two tournaments. Last year, pitcher, Davin Morita of Waialae and former product of Baldwin High School, won the Most Outstanding Player Award. Maui last won the tournament in 2008 when it was held here. Daimyo represented Maui then and every subsequent year. Joey Tam Ho, from Wailuku, was named the Tournament Most Outstanding Player as well as took the Batting and RBI awards.

Maui All-stars nucleus Daimyo team, include their manager, Chase Corniel, and coaches Van Delos Santos and Brent Fukagawa. Other Daimyo players include Alika Aheong, Gered Mochizuki, Kalaika Kahoohalahala, Allen Castro, JoeyCastro, Ian Shimabuku, Aaron Matsui and Jared Joaquin. Added to their roster are Ikaika Lau Hee, Kaeo Lau Hee, Royce Fukuroku, Kyle Shimizu, Logan Kanamu and Grant Nakama from Happy Hour; Dean Yamashita and Cory Takamura from Asahi¹s; Jason Miyahira of Wailuku; and Lance Migita and Kendrick Oshita of Maui A¹s. Yamashita and Lee Yonamine will serve as the team coaches.

Saturday first game starts at 10:00 am with Maui taking on Kauai. The game will be followed with an Opening Ceremony and followed at approximately 1:30 pm by Oahu against Hawaii. Maui will host a fellowship dinner on Saturday evening for all participants. The tournament conclude on Sunday with a consolation game starting at 9:00 am between the two losers (7 innings or two hour time limit) and the championship game at 11:30 am. An award ceremony will follow immediately following the game. The awards include the Championship bowl donated by Governor Neil Abercrombie, Most Outstanding Player bowl donated by Mayor Alan Arakawa, Batting Champ donated by Shane Victorino and Most RBI donated by Kurt Suzuki.

Roster # Name Team

00 Alika Aheong Daimyo

1 Gered Mochizuki Daimyo

3 Kalaika Kaholohalahala Daimyo

4 Brent Fukagawa Daimyo

5 Allen Castro Daimyo

5 Lance Migita Maui A’s

6 Joey Castro Daimyo

7 Ian Shimabuku Daimyo

7 Jason Miyahira Wailuku

8 Royce Fukuroku Happy hour

9 Aaron Matsui Daimyo

9 Kory Takamura Asahi’s

10 Kyle Shimizu Happy hour

11/33 Van Delos Santos Daimyo

16 Kendrick Oshita Maui A’s

17 Jared Joaquin Daimyo

21 Mo Lau Hee Happy hour

25 Dean Yamashita Asahi’s

26 Logan Kanamu Happy hour

32 Chase Corniel Daimyo

Coaches: Lee Yonamine and Dean Yamashita


Article Comments

No comments posted for this article.

Post a Comment

You must first login before you can comment.

*Your email address:
Remember my email address.


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web